Fall Plans

Now that September is in full swing, I’ve come to a point where fall plans must be solidified. I will post them here as an additional way to hold myself accountable. 🙂

I am working for Prison Justice League and could not be more thrilled about it. We are a nonprofit dedicated to improving the conditions for people currently incarcerated in Texas correctional facilities.

Phew. That’s a lot of words.

What we do is really important work and I’m glad to be a part of something so good.

Even “bad guys” deserve to be treated humanely. Most of the offenders in Texas prisons are being held there for less than great reasons and there is no reason any person should be routinely beaten, raped, starved, or denied medical care. Yet, this is what we see happening. Good job, Texass.

I am also excited to announce that I will be working on a project with PJL that I hope to present in the spring at the Prisoner’s Family Conference. I don’t have any family currently incarcerated, but I would love to be able to launch my project into a bigger arena. I want to share my work with others who will also be interested in what I’ve done and how to improve Texas prisons. I will be submitting a proposal this fall,  and finding out if I will speak in the winter.  I’ve never done something like this before, but there’s no time like the present!

I will also be writing to some penpals that I find online. I’m going to start by writing some folks I find on Black and Pink. It’s a great site with a fantastic mission to match people on the outside with LGBTQ+ prisoners and work towards creating a more safe environment for those who are inside the prison system. This ties two causes that hold space in my heart together and I think they do incredible work.

With this shift in my focus to prison life, I anticipate learning more than I have before about humans rights violations. I plan to work on community outreach events and to push legislation through proper advocacy and maybe even some letter writing campaigns.

This feels good and it feels right.

I’m ready to make a difference.

If you’ve got an idea for a prison related problem, please  comment it to me.
I want to learn as much as possible about the daily lives and struggles of being incarcerated; I want to learn about what happens when you get out too.

 

Leave a Reply

